Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Grow your Fabric skills and prepare for the DP-600 certification exam by completing the latest Microsoft Fabric challenge.

m2oquestions
Regular Visitor

How to pivot multiple rows to columns

Hi all,

I'm working with an Excel data source that shows a series of payments that should be applied to a single invoice.

(source file below)

m2oquestions_0-1715800924212.png

For each invoice [Bill ID] there is a single corresponding service date [Service Week Ending]. There is also at least one payment date [Posted Week Ending], but often multiple payments made over time to  the same [Bill ID].

I'd like to pivot the payment [Payment Amount] & payment date [Posted Week Ending] so that all activity shows on a single line for each [Bill ID]. 

(Output goal below)

m2oquestions_1-1715801161816.png

I'm new to PowerBI so trying to learn, any tips here would be greatly appreciated.

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION
Ashish_Mathur
Super User
Super User

Hi,

This M code works

let
    Source = Excel.CurrentWorkbook(){[Name="Data"]}[Content],
    #"Changed Type" = Table.TransformColumnTypes(Source,{{"Payment Amount", type number}, {"Bill ID", type text}, {"Service Week Ending", type date}, {"Posted Week Ending", type date}}),
    #"Added Index" = Table.AddIndexColumn(#"Changed Type", "Index", 1, 1, Int64.Type),
    #"Unpivoted Other Columns" = Table.UnpivotOtherColumns(#"Added Index", {"Bill ID", "Service Week Ending","Index"}, "Attribute", "Value"),
    #"Merged Columns" = Table.CombineColumns(Table.TransformColumnTypes(#"Unpivoted Other Columns", {{"Index", type text}}, "en-IN"),{"Attribute", "Index"},Combiner.CombineTextByDelimiter(" ", QuoteStyle.None),"Merged"),
    #"Pivoted Column" = Table.Pivot(#"Merged Columns", List.Distinct(#"Merged Columns"[Merged]), "Merged", "Value")
in
    #"Pivoted Column"

Hope this helps.

Ashish_Mathur_0-1715914849851.png

Regards,
Ashish Mathur
http://www.ashishmathur.com