Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Earn a 50% discount on the DP-600 certification exam by completing the Fabric 30 Days to Learn It challenge.

EduardoOrtega
Regular Visitor

Help with conditional formulas.

Good day,

I am new to using Power BI and I request your valuable help. I have the following set of data coming from a folder with very heavy Excel files:

EduardoOrtega_0-1682346830251.png

What I need is a formula or some way to help me determine, depending on the day (conciliation date column), which transactions were made on each day from March 1st to 31st based on the txn date column (which has the format "dd/mm/yyyy hh:mm:ss am, pm"), and classify them into 2 parameters: "Same period" and "Other period".

For "Same period", all transactions made from February 27th after 23:00:00 onwards, counting everything that is in March will be included. For "Other period", they will be those that are outside the previous range, whether before February 27th at 22:59:59 backwards, including other months and previous years.

I hope I have been able to explain the need well and that you can help me. Thank you very much.

3 REPLIES 3
v-rongtiep-msft
Community Support
Community Support

Hi @EduardoOrtega ,

I have created as simple sample, please refer to it to see if it helps you.

Create 2 columns.

max_time = FORMAT( dt"2023-3-31T23:59:59", BLANK(), "en-GB" )
min_time = FORMAT( dt"2023-2-27T23:00:00", BLANK(), "en-GB" )

Then create a measure.

Measure =
IF (
    MAX ( 'Table'[datetime] ) >= SELECTEDVALUE ( 'Table'[min_time] )
        && MAX ( 'Table'[datetime] ) <= SELECTEDVALUE ( 'Table'[max_time] ),
    "Same period",
    "Other period"
)

Or still use column.

column =
IF (
     ( 'Table'[datetime] ) >= earlier ( 'Table'[min_time] )
        &&  ( 'Table'[datetime] ) <= earlier ( 'Table'[max_time] ),
    "Same period",
    "Other period"
)

vrongtiepmsft_0-1682475430580.png

How to Get Your Question Answered Quickly