Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Earn a 50% discount on the DP-600 certification exam by completing the Fabric 30 Days to Learn It challenge.

Anonymous
Not applicable

Flexible and dynamic visualisation

Good afternoon fellow BI users,

I am a PowerBI novice, and so this may perhaps be a stupid question, but I havent been able to find a solution anywhere to the best of my knowledge.

My underlying data in a nutshell has the following characteristics:

- 1000s of individual persons

- For each person we have a number of characteristics, e.g. gender (person 1 = married, person 2 = single etc etc.)

- For each person we also have several timeseries of data e.g. salary data for every year 2000-2020, annual visits to dentist for every year 2000-2020 etc etc.

As I have a lot of data points for each individual, i can not make a seperate graph for every purpose. The dashboard would explode in size. But users require very different data points.

So what I am instead trying to do, is a construct single graph that displays data in a very flexible manner. Customised by the user, using slicers / selection buttons (whatever is best)

So to give an example: I would have a line graph, consisting of 5 lines. Every line contains the SUM of a certain characteristic (e.g. salary) across theindividuals selected with certain characteristics selected.

I think that for every line I would then need individual, line-specific slicers.

(e.g. line 1 = Male, Person 1-70 selected.

Line 2 = Male, Persons 71-100 selected,

Line 3 = Female, Persons 1-100 selected).

is this possible in the current BI infrastructure? Responses much appreciated! thanks all.

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION
mahenkj2
Solution Sage
Solution Sage

My response might not be exact answer you are looking for, but this is what I have following so far and can give you a direction: