Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Earn a 50% discount on the DP-600 certification exam by completing the Fabric 30 Days to Learn It challenge.

PBIUser4321

Apply unique slicer to specific matrix value

I’m new to PowerBI and it is an excellent tool! My employer has a monthly reporting PowerBI dataset that is available to certain employees.

I use this existing dataset to create tables/matrices that go into my presentations. I am not actually creating any datasets.

One of my matrices has 6 unique values that are calculated based on the current month data. This matrix is easy to create by using a slicer to select only the most recent month.

One of the 6 value fields is a “% of total” value. The issue I am running into is that I would also like to display comparative % data from the same month in the year prior.

Below is a simplified idea of what I am looking for, conceptually, but keep in mind that there would also be several other value columns in the actual matrix that would be displaying values as of April 2024:

April 2024 countApril 2024 distributionApril 2023 distribution
Red5025%30%
Blue5025%30%
Green5025%20%
Yellow5025%20%
Total200100%100%

Is it possible to create a single value column based on March 2023, when everything else in the matrix relies on the March 2024 slicer?

4 REPLIES 4
Kaviraj11
Responsive Resident
Responsive Resident

You can filter out the colour :

CALCULATE(
	[Measure],
	DATEADD(
		'Calendar'[Date],
		YEAR
	)
,FILTER('Tablename',not columnname in {"orange","purple"})
)

Ok, this is a sound workaround, but is likely not practical for my solution.

It is a large dataset (which unfortunately I have no direct control over) so I acknowledge there may not be any work around. I will give some more context just in case. I am actually using 3 different slicers to get down to the matrix data I want.