Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Earn a 50% discount on the DP-600 certification exam by completing the Fabric 30 Days to Learn It challenge.

Single column containing two types for references with diff prefix but dynamic numbers changing

I'm very new to PowerBI and tried to go through the posts but are just not able to find the solution to my issue.

Scenario:

I have a reference column containing two diff types of attributes with, the one has a prefex of R:(number)(Picking ref) & NB:(number)(checking ref)

Prefex R:25423 , R52633 (multiple numbers) and the same applies to NB:

I need to calculate the sum of the confirmed total pertaining to R: based on the create date per hour as well as the sum of the check total pertaining to NB: based on the create date per hour.

Not sure if I've explained this properly.  Your help in this instance will be much appreciated

Below the data columns

rinaredelinghuy_0-1663060013568.png

Regards

Rina

3 ACCEPTED SOLUTIONS
BA_Pete
Super User
Super User

Hi @rinaredelinghuy ,

The first thing I'd do would be to create new columns in Power Query with extra descriptors that I could later use to simplify writing measures. For example:

New columns in PQ:

referenceType =
if Text.StartsWith([ReferenceNumber], "R") then "Picking"
if Text.StartsWith([ReferenceNumber], "NB") then "Checking"
else "Other"

createDateOnly =
Date.From([CreateDate])

createDateHourOnly =
Time.StartOfHour([CreateDate])

This then makes writing explicit measures and creating visuals super-easy. Sums are just:

_confirmedPickingQty =
CALCULATE(
    SUM(yourTable[ConfirmedQuantity]),
    yourTable[referenceType] = "Picking"
)

Or you could even just use a simple SUM(yourTable[ConfirmedQuantity]) measure, and use your new [referenceType], [createDateOnly], and [createDateHourOnly] dimensions in a visual to have the data split out correctly.

Pete