Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Grow your Fabric skills and prepare for the DP-600 certification exam by completing the latest Microsoft Fabric challenge.

PaulBoot

CountRows in nested table performance issues

* EDIT: apparently PowerQuery got scared when I posted this message - the new custom column "= Table.AddColumn(#"Merged with Total based on CN ID", "RowCount", each Table.RowCount([Total.Table]))" now does work quite well. Not sure what I did differently, but there you go. Case closed, I'd say."

Dear all,

This is my first time posting, so apologies if I missed a forum best-practice.

This is to kindly ask for views on / help on a seemingly simple issue I cannot get my head around despite browsing forums for the past 2-3 hours.

Essentially, I'm trying to do a Table.RowCount or List.Count on nested tables inside a column after NestedJoin (see screenshot).

PaulBoot_0-1692776252513.png

The screenshot shows column "Total.Table" containing nested tables after performing a Merge Query operation based on a common key column between two tables. Now, I'd like PQ to only count / return the number of non-empty rows per nested table.

I've tried doing this by

1. adding a new custom column with the formula "Table.RowCount([Total.Table])" > this keeps on loading one of the source files, but it takes 30+ minutes if it loads at all.
  2. Using the "aggregate" function on the Total.Table column with a #Count of ID (ID being one of the columns in the nested table) > same result
  3. Creating a new blank query with formula "= let RowCount = List.Count(#"CN RP 2"[Total.Table]) in RowCount" > this gets me the total number of rows not in the nested table but in the main table - I was trying to creat a function but don't quite know how to do this.
  4. Creating another blank query with formula "= let TableRowCount = Table.RowCount(#"CN RP 2") in TableRowCount > idem