Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Grow your Fabric skills and prepare for the DP-600 certification exam by completing the latest Microsoft Fabric challenge.

fvdyoshida
Frequent Visitor

create a relationship between 2 tables from an unique dataset.

Hi everyone,

I have no much experience on Power Bi and I am facing a hard time here, I hope you could help me on this.

I have a Power BI dataset created from an excel file hosted on a Sharepoint site. Tis dataset has 2 tables (Raw data & General info). When I use the power bi desktop to create the new report and I select this dataset created on Power Bi portal I can see both tables available, but I cannot create the relationship between them. All options are in light gray. 

when I start to populate the report, and I add fields from both tables I got an error message statng that something went wrong, and try to fix. When I keep only fields from one table, the data is showed.

Any idea on what am I missing?

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION
v-rzhou-msft
Community Support
Community Support

Hi @fvdyoshida 

I think you want to build relationship between two tables which you got from power bi dataset.

When you get data from power bi dataset, the connection mode will be live connection.

Currently we couldn't manage relationship in live connection mode.

However, you can try to use DirectQuery for Power BI datasets. 

For more details you may refer to this blog:

Using DirectQuery for Power BI datasets and Azure Analysis Services (preview)

DirectQuery for Power BI datasets and Azure Analysis Services (preview)

Click make change to this model in blue in right corner.

1.png

Data model will change to DirectQuery.

2.png

It is a preview option. So there may be some imperfections.

You can build relationships between tables in the same datasource or different datasources.

Just like when you build relationships between two tables from the power bi dataset, you can't delete it.