Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Grow your Fabric skills and prepare for the DP-600 certification exam by completing the latest Microsoft Fabric challenge.

BowerPI
Regular Visitor

Variance between months, based on filtered table

Hello!

I'm new to PowerBI so any help would be appreciated 🙂

I have a source data table in PowerBi that looks something like this (Unfortunately can't share actual file due to confidentiality reasons):

BowerPI_6-1707435551686.png

This is just an example, but basically for a given site, there are multiple meter IDs, and each meter has a Room ID (room that it services).

I've managed to create a visual that summarises the total consumption of each RoomID at each month of the year for a given site.

BowerPI_4-1707434756438.png

I'm trying to find the variance month to month, and display it in a similar format for each site. E.g. based on the image directly above, to produce something like this:

BowerPI_5-1707435340449.png

Where ~3050% = (996226.55 - 31624.55)/31624.55 * 100% 

and

~ -3.75% = difference in consumption between May and June for Room ID: A010.

Will it require using DAX or creating a new table? If you know how to go about it please let me know 🙂

Thank you!

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Hi @BowerPI ,

Change the 

'dcs_test_data_2'[month].[Month]

into this:

'dcs_test_data_2'[month].[MonthNo]

[month].[Month] returns words for each month, and [month].[MonthNo] returns a number for each month

vjunyantmsft_0-1707718078541.png

Best Regards,
Dino Tao
If this post helps, then please consider Accept it as the solution to help the other members find it more quickly.

View solution in original post

6 REPLIES 6
Jihwan_Kim
Super User
Super User

Hi,

Please check the below picture and the attached pbix file if it suits your requirement.

Jihwan_Kim_1-1707453754231.png

Jihwan_Kim_0-1707453717801.png

Consumption measure: = 
SUM( Data[Consumption] )