Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Grow your Fabric skills and prepare for the DP-600 certification exam by completing the latest Microsoft Fabric challenge.

SuryaDave_Syd
Regular Visitor

Slicers & Data Display

Dear All,

I am very new to Power BI & need help - Please see my problem below & refer to Power BI file attached ( May 2021 version ). Power BI file has 3 tabs.     PBI_File_with_demoDATA 

Context:

I have report where user first land on the welcome page & there they select a city. That slicer will filter so many KPIs spread across different pages.

1st Constraint

As per the main condition or constraint for the report, user can select "one" member from the slicer only. So, for example, user can select "City_A" only or user can select "STATE_LEVEL" only ....but ...user can not select 2 or more items from the slicer - i.e. "City_A" & "STATE_LEVEL"

2nd Constraint

Slicer has to be on the welcome page only and not on other pages to avoid confusion to user and also to prohibit user from using slicers to change options. So, I will be using "Sync slicers" functionality available in Power BI to sync slicer across all the pages

Problem:

I want to create a chart, where chart is filtered with city that user has selected from slicer but it also displays state-level result side by side for comparison. However, this is not happening .

What I have tried so far.....

So far I have tried creating calculated column using "selectedvalue" function, tried creating measure using same function but noting is working.

2 ACCEPTED SOLUTIONS

Hi @SuryaDave_Syd ,

Looking at the model you have you need to create a disconnect table that will allow you to do the filtering of your data and then a measure to make it to work.