Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Earn a 50% discount on the DP-600 certification exam by completing the Fabric 30 Days to Learn It challenge.

mwklink

Slicer applied to Y-Axis on Vertical Column graph

Hello, I'm pretty new to Power BI but can work my way around the software somewhat. Though if I have found solutions to this problem they were too complicated for me to understand.

I've included a sample table of data that shows the kind of data that I'm using below. What I would like to do is from this table create a Vertical Column graph with four bars, one for each type of beverage, on the X-Axis. On the Y-Axis I want to use a slicer in order to look at a variety of different metrics, but only one at a time. I want to be able to look at the sales brought in by each beverage, and then with the slicer change it to the cost of production or units sold.

ProductSales# SoldProduction Cost
Cola $ 23,720.00            18,976 $   7,140.00
Root Beer $ 40,180.00            32,144 $ 11,276.00
Club Soda $   7,822.00              6,257 $   2,633.00
Ginger Ale $ 13,988.00            11,190 $   4,674.00

My process thus far has been to: 1) Insert a vertical bar graph with the X-Axis set to the "Product Column." 2) Create a new field parameter, selecting the other three columns "Sales," "# Sold," and "Production Cost" as the Fields, naming the new Parameter "Analysis By." I make sure the checkbox is ticked to indicate I'd like to automatically add a slicer. 3) Once the slicer has appeared, I drag the parameter "Analysis By" to the Y-Axis of my vertical bar chart.

At this point in my process I would have expected the chart to display something, but it remains empty and the slicer does nothing when I select different fields. I've followed the process outlined in the video below almost identically but haven't made any progress.