Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Grow your Fabric skills and prepare for the DP-600 certification exam by completing the latest Microsoft Fabric challenge.

nmrt
Regular Visitor

Need total sum to work dynamically with slicers

Hello PBI community!

I am trying to get the ABS(sales - Forecast at lag3). Each row gives the correct quantity but the totals do not add up accordingly.

I have an item master and a customer master table that I need to use as slicers to filter through the matrix or charts.

Product IDProduct Name
12345Product A
23456Product B

Customer GroupingCustomer Name
GroceryCustomer A
RetailCustomer B

I have a forecast table at a customer and item level which details all the forecast versions submitted and then measures that calculate the Lags (Lag 3 meaning the forecast submitted 3 months ago)

Forecast Submission VersionItemCustomerQty
04/2024Product ACustomer A100
04/2024Product ACustomer B120
03/2024Product ACustomer A90

The lag is a measure due to data issues where the customer doesn't appear in all submissions and I could not use the EARLIER function on a calculated column

I also have a sales table which is a live connection from another PBI model

DateCustomerProductQty
04/01/2024Customer AProduct A10
04/02/2024Customer BProduct B20

I have looked on the forum and youtube but most solutions require calculated columns with SUMX instead of measures or SUMMARIZE function which usually indicates one table and I need to use the Sales table and Forecast table and is not dynamic to each slicer that I apply (item master and/or customer master slicers)

= SUMX(SUMMARIZE(Forecast,'itemMaster'[Product Name],'itemMaster'[Product ID],'Customer Master'[Customer Name],' Customer Master'[Customer Grouping]),ABS([Sales'[Qty]-Forecast' [(Lag3)])) - This totals the quantity correctly but each row is incorrect

Would greatly appreciate your help!
11 REPLIES 11
Greg_Deckler
Super User
Super User