Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Grow your Fabric skills and prepare for the DP-600 certification exam by completing the latest Microsoft Fabric challenge.

Necrosis1968
Regular Visitor

Filtering columns in a Matrix

Hi, I'm a Power BI Newbie so sorry for the simplicity of my question. I've looked on the forums but can't find anything that I can get to work.

I have a matrix based on a table. One column is calculated using DAX. A data Sample is below:

Problem Type       UniqueID     Resolved

App                             A1               Yes

App                             A2               No

OS                               A3               No

OS                               A4               Yes

In my matrix I have

Problem Type          Count of Unique ID          Count of Resolved

App                                       2                                 2

OS                                         2                                 2

I'd like to filter resolved = No, or Resolved = Yes, but when I do, all columns go to 1. The count of Unique ID would need to remain at 2. I tried adding a slicer but that affects all columns. I also tried clicking on count of resolved and trying to add a slicer there but it selects both resolved and unique ID whenever I try that (presumably becuase the Resolved status is calculated?).

This is so I can then work on the next problem which will be the % resolved in another column, but that's for another time!

Thanks in advance!

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION
Sergii24
Super User
Super User

Hi @Necrosis1968, I assume you've built your matrix by dragging and dropping columns and then changing calcualtion to "Count (Distinct)". Is it correct?

Sergii24_0-1712227489716.png

If so, you're using "implicit" measures as commented by Greg_Deckler. "Implicit" means that PowerBI makes a calculation for you and you don't need to write any formula.