Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Grow your Fabric skills and prepare for the DP-600 certification exam by completing the latest Microsoft Fabric challenge.

tomrollinson
Frequent Visitor

Filtering Values displayed in Bar Chart based on a range of ranks

Hi,

I am relatively new to Power BI so would appreciate any help with the below.

I am wanting to be able to limit the number of values returned in a bar chart depending on the rank of a selected value - showing the selected value, and the two values above & two values below. I attempted to create two measures, that returns the rank number two above and below, and thought I would be able to apply these as a filter range in the visual - but this does not work.

This could be applied to a footfall league table. If there were 20 teams, I am aiming to create a bar chart that allows to select a specific team, and also return the two teams above and below, based on league position. The bar chart would look something similar to the below, to allow to place the selected team in context - if selected Tottenham for example.

tomrollinson_1-1710842695406.png

It would be great to understand how/if this could be achieved - as I have another use case where I would like to do the same, but applying to a list of ~2,000 places (so understanding similar ranked places would be useful).

Thanks in advance.

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION
v-huijiey-msft
Community Support
Community Support

Hi @tomrollinson ,

First, create an unjoined table and drag the League Position column of this table into the slicer:

Table 2 = DISTINCT('Table'[League Position])

Create three measures:

Total Points = SUM('Table'[Points])

Rank = RANKX(ALL('Table'[League Position]),[Total Points],,DESC,Dense)

Measure = 
VAR __selected_value = SELECTEDVALUE('Table 2'[League Position])
VAR __ranking = CALCULATE([Rank],'Table'[League Position]=__selected_value)
VAR __bef = __ranking - 2
VAR __aft = __ranking + 2