Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Earn a 50% discount on the DP-600 certification exam by completing the Fabric 30 Days to Learn It challenge.

franco_mango

Do I need multiple gateways for multiple database connections

I am relatively new to powerBI so apologies if this is a trivial question. I want to create two reports in two separate workspaces. Both reports use data from different sql server databases. Do I need separate gateways for that? From my understanding, I can use the same gateway for multiple database connections, so what is the advantage of having different gateways? What is the best practice?

Does the answer depend on the following scenarios?
1.) Report A uses database A from the SQL server x.x.x.x:xx and report B uses database B in the same sql server

2.) Report A and Report B use different database from different sql servers

Thank you!

2 REPLIES 2
v-cgao-msft
Community Support
Community Support

Hi @franco_mango ,

Your understanding is correct; you can use a single gateway to connect to multiple databases, even if those databases are on different servers.

Let's address your scenarios specifically:

1. Same SQL Server, Different Databases: If Report A uses Database A and Report B uses Database B on the same SQL Server (x.x.x.x:xx), you can definitely use the same gateway for both reports. The on-premises data gateway acts as a bridge, allowing secure data transfer between your on-premises data sources (like SQL Server) and the Power BI service, regardless of the number of databases on that server.

2. Different SQL Servers: Even if Report A and Report B use databases from different SQL servers, a single gateway can still manage these connections. The gateway is designed to handle multiple data sources, which can include different databases hosted on different SQL Server instances.

Advantages of Using Multiple Gateways: