Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Earn a 50% discount on the DP-600 certification exam by completing the Fabric 30 Days to Learn It challenge.

Canadf
Frequent Visitor

Data processing, all values in one column

Hello, this is my first question.

I'm new with PowerBI, I'm still learning. 

Going straight into my problem:

I have a database where all the data introduced by the worker is saved into one column (field_value), and the other columns state info abou that data, like field_name (the name that field has in our form), step_name (the name the step containing that field has in our form), the job_name (the name of a single piece of paper that a worker fills), and many others, like the date and time it was filled.

The thing is, the stored date and time doens't work for segmenting he data, because each paper can be filled in two different days (even if it refers to only one day, this is because of the beggining time being somewhere before 23:00 of the previous day), so my main segmentation will be the Job Name, and a field filled with the DATE of that job. 

So instead of having a single row for each Job, containing with one column for each of the field_values introuced (for example, one column for color, one column for number, one column for worker), I have several rows repeating the job_name and specifying through the other columns to identify a single field_value as unique.

So my question is, how can I use relations, to relate several rows of field_value, to a single job_name and a DATE? Or even creating a new table, where all this data is converted to a single row per job_name, using the field_name as column names? (Dynamic columns hasn't quite worked or me, as I don't know how to fully use them)

Sorry if the question is a bit confusing, I can't really post my company's data as an example

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION
audreygerred
Super User
Super User