Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

feltder

Averagex over multiple tables using Var function

Good morning, 

I am a beginner in DAX coding and hoping someone could help me out. 

I’m calculating average people leaving the Organisation by multiple values in different tables.

When the calculation is in two different measures it works but when trying using VAR it doesn’t calculate the average correctly. I also need to “CrossJoin” to multiple tables to get the average by those variables (see below). I want to use VAR because I have many meausres and the loading of the data into the visuals is taking a long time so I’m trying to improve efficiency.

First question: Is crossjoin the correct function to use for "group by" by multiple tables or is there a simpler way?

Second question: What Am I doing wrong in the measure below because the average output is not correct unfortunately compared to if I were to break this measure into two different ones.

Any help on this would be so appreciated!!

1. AvgTest =

VAR CountOut =

if(CALCULATE(COUNT('Data - Outgoings'[SIN]))=0,0,CALCULATE(COUNT('Data - Outgoings'[SIN])))

Return

AVERAGEX(

CROSSJOIN(

VALUES(X_Fiscal_Year[Fiscal_Quarter]),

VALUES(X_Classfication[Classification]),

VALUES(X_Unit[Division]),

VALUES(X_EEGroup_Combination[EE_Combination]),

VALUES(X_Tenure[Tenure]),

VALUES(X_Job_Family[Job_Family]))

, CountOut

)

5 REPLIES 5
v-kkf-msft
Community Support
Community Support

Hi @feltder ,

Maybe you can try the measure.

AvgTest = 
AVERAGEX (
    SUMMARIZE (
        'Data - Outgoings',
        X_Fiscal_Year[Fiscal_Quarter],
        X_Classfication[Classification],
        X_Unit[Division],
        X_EEGroup_Combination[EE_Combination],
        X_Tenure[Tenure],
        X_Job_Family[Job_Family],
        "_Count",
            IF (