Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Earn a 50% discount on the DP-600 certification exam by completing the Fabric 30 Days to Learn It challenge.

mds123
Frequent Visitor

Saving a daily copy of inventory table to lakehouse

I'm brand new to fabric and the data factory tools. I have an inventory table that shows the current invenotry for all my products. I'm looking to build a table that has a daily snapshot of the inventory. I'm assuming I could do this with incremental refresh but how do I make it so I don't delete historic information?

I'm brand new to all the Fabric / Data Factory tools so any help would be amazing.

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION
miguel
Community Admin
Community Admin

It doesn't seem like you'd need incremental refresh.

You can just run the dataflow every day, add a column to have the timestamp and just append the result of every day execution to a "snapshots" table. Again, it doesn't seem like you need incremental refresh at all and just doing an Append operation would suffice.

View solution in original post

6 REPLIES 6
miguel
Community Admin
Community Admin

It doesn't seem like you'd need incremental refresh.

You can just run the dataflow every day, add a column to have the timestamp and just append the result of every day execution to a "snapshots" table. Again, it doesn't seem like you need incremental refresh at all and just doing an Append operation would suffice.

miguel
Community Admin
Community Admin

you don't really need incremental refresh for this. If your goal is to take a snapshot, then just run the Dataflow Gen2 perhaps every day and then append the data to a "snapshots" table. Each run would be the snapshot at a particular date. You can also add another column where you can set a timestamp as to when the process was executed.

Again, it doesn't appear that you need incremental refresh, but that feature will come soon as well.

frithjof_v
Continued Contributor
Continued Contributor