Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Grow your Fabric skills and prepare for the DP-600 certification exam by completing the latest Microsoft Fabric challenge.

srobs
Frequent Visitor

Multiple IF/AND for text fields

Hi, I'm pretty new to Power BI and not sure exactly what I can/can't do. 

I have quite a big data set of impoterd JIRA defect tickets, 2 of the columns are "Defect Occurance" and "Defect Severity" and each have values low, medium, high etc. I want to write a DAX conditional for acceptability that says - if occurance is high and severity is high then fill in 3rd column with unacceptable - and then replicate this for all the variables. 

I've tried a few variations but I'm struggling, I get an error even trying to call out the columns I want in the measure, do I need to transform this data first? It's an appended sheet called "all defects" so far I've tried; 

Defect Acceptability =
SWITCH (
TRUE (),
AND([Defect Severity]Low, [Defect Occurance]Low), "Acceptable",
AND([Defect Severity]Low, [Defect Occurance]Medium), "Acceptable",
AND([Defect Severity]Low, [Defect Occurance]High), "Acceptable",
AND([Defect Severity]Low, [Defect Occurance]Very High), "Justify",

)

But I just get loads of syntax errors. 

Any ideas? Thanks. 

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION
srobs
Frequent Visitor

Turned I had a couple of issues! 

1. I needed to select "new column" not "new measure" in order to pull from my data

2. I had left a comma at the end

3. I spelt severity wrong and had copy pasted it (duh)

In the end it looked like this, but with all 16 variables, and it worked 🙂

Column =
SWITCH(
    true(),
    [Defect Severity]="low"&&[Defect Occurrence]="low","Acceptable",
    [Defect Severity]="Low"&&[Defect Occurrence]="Medium","Acceptable"
)

View solution in original post

3 REPLIES 3
srobs
Frequent Visitor

Turned I had a couple of issues! 

1. I needed to select "new column" not "new measure" in order to pull from my data