Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Grow your Fabric skills and prepare for the DP-600 certification exam by completing the latest Microsoft Fabric challenge.

monaraya

The Unpivot Paradox - What works and what does not ? How a string can make your life difficult ?

Disclaimer: All data samples in this blog have random values. Should these values match with some other blog/article, it is something purely coincidental.

In layman terms, Power BI as we know is a very user-friendly (emphasis on very) data visualization and analysis tool.If I am a beginner, I need to click a few buttons and I can create a very sophisticated, structured report.

However, sometimes hard comes with easy. While mostly I get what I want but one wrong click - In Power BI terms a step - can lead to what I call a panic web.

I recently came across one pretty simple but easy to miss scenario. Customer was trying to unpivot a few selected columns to get what he wanted but got an empty table instead. If I may say, he was definitely in a panic web.

Now before we get into details, let us first understand what pivot and unpivot means.

Pivot Columns

Pivot is used to create a name value column out of 2 separate columns. For example, you are a Project Manager and need to see the budget released for various cycles for your project each month. You have data collated in your source (here Excel) something of this form.

monaraya_0-1639549251776.png

Not really readable and insightful right?

Doesn't this look better?

monaraya_1-1639549251780.png

If I were to make such changes manually, it would take me approximately 30 minutes. And imagine I have 100 such projects.

Pivot will help you achieve this in a few clicks. Not getting into details of how.I hope this helped you understand how helpful this can be.

Unpivot Columns