Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Earn the coveted Fabric Analytics Engineer certification. 100% off your exam for a limited time only!

Rodion
Frequent Visitor

workspaces vs app, what is the difference?

I'm new to Power BI and I'm ready to share my first dashboard. I am however completely lost in the sharing options. I followed the Guided Learning and I noticed that you can just share a dashboard from the dashboard itsself, but there are also workspaces, apps and content packs. What are they and what are the differences between them? Thanks for your help.

2 ACCEPTED SOLUTIONS

@Rodion

Workspaces: Personal and App

Personal - This is your workspace, don't share any company level reports from here as you are the only one that can access them. Use it for your own reports, or sharing privately.

App - The App workspace was call "Group Workspace" - this workspace allows multiple admins and should be the platform by which you share dashboards or reports to a wider audience. That way, if there are any personell changes, nothing is affected.

Apps - Are a 1 to 1 map to an App workspace and provide end users a read only experiance for the particular objects in the workspace that you want them to see. Valuable way of sharing, and the only way to share if you use the Premium license.

Content Packs - Being deprecated, don't use them. (I'm personally glad these are going away, just a nightmare to manage and changes or delete could cause major issues downstream.)

BTW - you can also now just share a report, you are no longer bound by sharing things via a dashboard.

Looking for more Power BI tips, tricks & tools? Check out PowerBI.tips the site I co-own with Mike Carlo. Also, if you are near SE WI? Join our PUG Milwaukee Brew City PUG

View solution in original post