Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

akhaliq7
Continued Contributor
Continued Contributor

power bi data gateway: where to install.

I am the only pbi developer at my work. The last pbi developer (has left) created some reports and did some scheduled refreses on them. 

I don't know where he installed the data gateway as the refreshes are still going on and he has left.

Should i install the data gateway on my work laptop or get the admin to install on the actual server.

i am fairly new to this terminology of servers.

what i have gotten so far is if the gateway is installed on the server it needs to have my email address entered that matches my pbi service account.

if i install on my work laptop then there will be problems as it won't be connected 24/7 to the internet.

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION
selimovd
Super User
Super User

Hey @akhaliq7 ,

don't install the gateway on your machine. When you're not working, when you reboot, when you are on holiday, all the reports using the gateway can't refresh.

Go to powerplatform admin portal, here you will find all the DataGateways:

https://admin.powerplatform.microsoft.com/ext/DataGateways

There you can also see if they are online, on which machine they are running and you can add yourself as an admin of that gateway. Then you can take them over and control them.

If you need any help please let me know.
If I answered your question I would be happy if you could mark my post as a solution ✔️ and give it a thumbs up 👍

Best regards
Denis

View solution in original post

5 REPLIES 5
v-jayw-msft
Community Support
Community Support

Hi @akhaliq7 ,

You could refer this document.

https://docs.microsoft.com/en-us/data-integration/gateway/service-gateway-migrate 

Best Regards,

Jay

Community Support Team _ Jay