Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

YossiKoresh
Regular Visitor

on-premises data gateway on aws ec2 instance

I'm new to Power BI and I can't figure out what's the best practice to connect power bi to mysql server in AWS.

I downloaded the power bi desktop pro and when I configured a data gateway the scheduling is actually depending on my personal computer.

Of course that this isn't something that we could live with, so can I install the gateway on AWS ec2 instance? if not, what is the proper way to get an updated data without relying on my computer?

Thanks in advance,

Yossi

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Hi @YossiKoresh,

Actually, you can install and configure gateway on any other machines that have access to the data source. But gateway should be installed on a physical machine.

Regards,

Frank

Community Support Team _ Frank
If this post helps, then please consider Accept it as the solution to help the others find it more quickly.

View solution in original post

7 REPLIES 7
silvio610

Hi, the official support is not clear about this topic. I'm facing the same issue now and this thread (well, the official answers) is useless. I think the question is clear, once I turn off my computer, the online dashboard won't be updated, even if I have the scheduled automation. So, What's the best option to have scheduled automation of the online dashboard? Thanks.

v-frfei-msft
Community Support
Community Support

Hi @YossiKoresh,

As you said “when I configured a data gateway the scheduling is actually depending on my personal computer”, what do you mean? If you just don’t want to install the gateway on your personal machine, here I suggest you to install and configure the gateway on a VM or another machine. Of course, the new one should have access to the data source here.