Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Earn the coveted Fabric Analytics Engineer certification. 100% off your exam for a limited time only!

rabers
Regular Visitor

how to app.powerbi.com

hi,

I'm new to Power BI.

I've realized there are two options: desktop and web (app.powerbi.com)

assuming I'm coming from the BI world (other tools) and i know a thing or two about BI,

i want to know if the web option can be used as stand alone?

i have a client who wishes to work only with the web option.

didn't find how to import more than one table to the cloud, manipulate them? link between them (either automatically or by the user\developer)? etc. can it be done?

let's say I have orders_header, order_details table and products tables - how can I import all of them to the cloud and build my ERD? in order to use ALL of their data in order to create a dashboard?

or should all the data preparations be done at the raw data part?

please assist,

Shay

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION
ankitpatira
Community Champion
Community Champion

@rabers Basically power bi desktop is the designer tool and power bi service is web app to access reports and dashboards. You can also connect straight to some data sources from power bi service and build reports and dashboard there but you don't get advanced data manipulation capabilities that you get in desktop app. General process if you use power bi desktop to connect to data source -> perform your data manipulation there -> build report -> publish to power bi service -> build dashboard from published report in power bi service -> share that dashboard with others.

So to answer your question you can use power bi desktop to connec to all your tables and publish that to cloud or use power bi service to connect straight to tables in your data source provided power bi service allows support for that type of data source (example azure sql database).

View solution in original post

5 REPLIES 5