Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

jdebett
Regular Visitor

help with error Premium caller trying to read premium per user information.

Hello

i have a dataset that calls a dataflow containing a table called shortages with dispo. we have premium capacity and i am a pro user. the dataflow is updating with no errors, but when i try to refresh the dataset i get the below:

Premium caller trying to read premium per user information.. The exception was raised by the IDataReader interface. Please review the error message and provider documentation for further information and corrective action. Table: Shortages with dispo.

this report worked on a previous premium capacity, and refreshes fine on powerbi desktop, but once it is published gives the error.  I have never seen this error and google isnt helping. Any suggestions to a fix?

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

HI @johanjsc , and @Marco_Polo_86 , @adeniranao , @Norbertus and @johanjsc 

I've taken a look at this and can reproduce the error. However I think it is entirely consistent with Microsoft's PPU licencing. What I believe is happening is this:

User creates a PPU workspace (PPUW1) and generates a Dataflow on it from some data (PPUDF1)

User then connects to Dataflow PPUDF1 in Power BI Desktop and builds a Report visual from it.

User than publishes this Report to a non PPU Workspace (WS2).

This puts a Dataset and a Report on WS2. When the users sets up a refresh of Dataset on WS2 it fails with "Shared caller trying to read premium per user information" error.