Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

LourensW

getting started -Signing Up

Hi guys & gals

I'm new to PowerBI so please excuse my ignorance.

To get started & learn PowerBI can I download, create and publish reports on my name, not my companies name? This will be for me to learn and find out limitations and then to see if I implement it in my company, before going to the managers saying please buy Office 365 or add me to it if you already have it 🙂

If I need to register it to a company email - this means that the company needs Office 365 and I need to be allowed to use PowerBi in there subscriptions, is this correct?

I've read about Tenants - will the Tenants for the company be created and set-up when you first configure Office 365, then you add Power BI as a subscription and a PowerbI Tenant is created alongside the Office 365 Tenant?

I apologise for the multiple questions, I just need to get my facts right before proposing this to the business. I also need to know what is required at a management level as well.

I've watched videos and read blogs on how to create dashboards and am excited to get started, I just need to know what is needed to get it installed and able to publish for demos etc.

Thanks for your help
Lourens

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION
GilbertQ
Super User
Super User

Hi there,

We are all here to help. And when the first person signs up for Power BI via a Company email address, what it does in the background is it creates an Office 365 tenant (which you will not have to pay for), as well as an Azure Active Directory. If you company is already using for example Exchange Online this would have already been created.

You do not require to have Office 365 to use Power BI or sign up.