Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

RaphaelNeto
Frequent Visitor

gateway shared with other external consultants

Hello all.

I'm a consultant and the company I work for has provided a BI solution to a client, where they provide us with an user within their domain to install the gateway on their server and share the reports created.

The user given to us is the admin of the gateway.

This client has different branches and one of them hired another external consultant to create a different BI project for them. This consutant contacted me to understand the option he has to connect to the client DB using the gateway already installed in the server.

I don't know who is this consultant and what he will be creating. I just know that he probably need to access the same server or DB I'm using in my own project.

What you think is the safest approach here? Considering data protection policies and security access?

- tell him to install a new gateway in a different machine as the client has a few machines linked to the main server that could host a new gateway (obviously he can't install a new gateway in same machine)

- create the data sources connection that he needs and add him as a user of the datasource?

- give him admin access to the gateway to allow him to create his own connections?

Thank you for your input

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION
v-xulin-mstf
Community Support
Community Support

Hi @RaphaelNeto

In your case, others need to access the same server or DB you are using in your own project, so others can only connect to your local data source through your local gateway.
So you need create the data sources connection that he needs and add him as a user of the datasource.

For more information, you can refer:

https://docs.microsoft.com/en-us/power-bi/connect-data/service-gateway-data-sources