Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

arunaramana
Helper III
Helper III

couldn't get data from data-source in power-bi report-builder dataset

Hello There,

I started practicing Power BI report builder recently using microsoft official tutorial; in the tutorial, as initial steps, I created data source, then created dataset, tested the connection, which worked as intended till this step. Then, in Design a query window, as I selected facts in the fact table, and a field from a dimension table, I noticed couple of things:

1. data /values are not populated under Aggregate

2. I ran the query to expecting the values will be evaluated, the tool generated following error:

arunaramana_0-1631739185085.png

the above steps were perform using 'create table wizard' on 'azure sql database'. However, I tried with a on-premise sql server database using 'create table wizard' and encountered similar problem.

Would anyone please help me understand the scenario?  Thank you for giving your valuable time.

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION
v-xiaoyan-msft
Community Support
Community Support

Hi @arunaramana ,

According to the error message, the fileds you selected have no value, please fill this fileds and try again.

If I have not understood your needs correctly, please do not hesitate to inform me.

Hope it helps,

Community Support Team _ Caitlyn Yan

If this post helps then please consider Accept it as the solution to help the other members find it more quickly.

View solution in original post

2 REPLIES 2
v-xiaoyan-msft
Community Support
Community Support

Hi @arunaramana ,

According to the error message, the fileds you selected have no value, please fill this fileds and try again.

If I have not understood your needs correctly, please do not hesitate to inform me.

Hope it helps,