Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

TrayH
Regular Visitor

Visualize this list gives me an access denied, even though I have full control on the SP list

I am fairly new to Power BI so I feel like I'm missing something here.

I am the admin of this environment, and have started using Power Apps and Power Automate fairly heavily. I wanted to start offering customers ways to visualize the data they have in their SharePoint lists, but I've found that "Visualize this list" is giving me the following access denied. I've been able to repro this on multiple lists that I've tried:

TrayH_3-1676480259553.png

TrayH_2-1676480223602.png

I can manually connect to these lists just fine through Power BI desktop, but for some reason visualize the list isn't working. As mentioned I have full control on the list, which is located on a SharePoint site that I created and am the owner of. I already confirmed this is enabled in the admin center:

TrayH_1-1676480116476.png

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

I totally forgot I had come across this before, but it appears this is a known issue with lists that are not connected to Teams. We do not use Teams in our environment, so I guess we're out of luck - SharePoint Online Lists - Navigation - Integrate -... - Microsoft Power BI Community

TrayH_0-1676486029994.png

View solution in original post

2 REPLIES 2
jaweher899
Super User
Super User

Based on the error message you are receiving, it seems that there may be an issue with the permissions or access levels for your SharePoint list. Even though you have full control on the list and are the owner of the SharePoint site, there may still be other factors at play that are preventing you from using the "Visualize this list" feature in Power BI.