Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

rashmij9
Frequent Visitor

User access for auto-refresh reports

I am relatively new to Power BI and I have been working on a project within my organization to create a dashboard that has initially been created in the desktop version using the SQL server, then published and shared with users over the web interface.

I have weekly auto-refresh scheduled for my report using a gateway that refreshes all of the data in my report.

I want to understand the following:

Certain users in my organization have viewing access to the report (with row-level security set); after the auto-refresh this morning, all of the users with access to the report could not see any data. They can access the report but can't see any data inside the report.

I was wondering why something like this could be happening? Also, do I need to share the refreshed report with all users every week after the auto-refresh is complete, or can users automatically see the refreshed version of the report or refresh the report themselves for new data to be reflected?

Would I need to define roles for each user so that they can access the refreshed reports each week without any error?

I'd really appreciate any information about all this 🙂

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION
v-yalanwu-msft
Community Support
Community Support

Hi, @rashmij9 ;

Do you mean that the organization users can see before, and suddenly can't see without other operations?If so,

We have to make sure that the operation of row-level security is correct.

Row-level security (RLS) with Power BI

In addition, I’m not sure if this is related to service updates. I saw in the issue forum that other people have also posted related issues about row-level security. You can check if there are similarities in your situation.