Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

rgrimm
Employee
Employee

Upload error: The remote server returned an error: (400) Bad Request

I have an Azure subscription with a Power BI Embedded resource (A1). I am attempting to upload a PBIX file from desktop. it is over 2G big. I have verified that my Azure PBI Embedded services is running and active.

About 30 seconds after finding my workspace in the list and clicking the Select button, I receive an error message:

Publishing to Power BI

An error occurred while attempting to publish <name>.pbix: The remove server returned an error: (400) Bad Request

I am blocked. What do you recommend?

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION
GilbertQ
Super User
Super User

Hi there

If you already have a dataset loaded you are over the 3GB of memory allocated to an A1, because it has to host the existing model and upload the new one.

Try and increase the sizing to an A2, which is 5GB, that might be close, I would actually recommend an A3 which is 10GB

Did I answer your question? Mark my post as a solution!

Proud to be a Super User!

Power BI Blog

View solution in original post

3 REPLIES 3
GilbertQ
Super User
Super User

Hi there

If you already have a dataset loaded you are over the 3GB of memory allocated to an A1, because it has to host the existing model and upload the new one.

Try and increase the sizing to an A2, which is 5GB, that might be close, I would actually recommend an A3 which is 10GB

Power BI Blog

After some experimentation, I did find that an A1 size was insufficient. I deleted everything that was previously uploaded so that I was starting clean. An A2 instance also proved insufficient. Ultimately I needed an A4 (10G) to handle a PBIX file that was only 1.56G image on my disk. There is apparently some decompression happening after uploading.