cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Reply
MarkSL Member
Member

Upgraded to Premium P1, but Free user being to told to upgrade to Pro?

Hi,

 

We have recently upgraded to Power BI Premium P1 (8 v-cores) to move away from Pro licenses per user.  We have created our Capacity and upgraded a Workspace to Premium against this Capacity.

 

We have 'downgraded' a test user from Pro to 'Power BI (free)' and they are assigned to the Workspace.  However when the user goes to access the Workspace (as they could prior to it being upgraded to Premium), they get the message "Upgrade to Power BI Pro - This feature is only available to users with a Pro license".

 

There is a similar thread on the forums Users being asked to upgrade to pro to access app workspace shared on Premium capacity, but this is where they had been provided with the wrong SKU (EM instead of P1?).

 

Thoughts appreciated!

 

Mark

 

 

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Community Support Team
Community Support Team

Re: Upgraded to Premium P1, but Free user being to told to upgrade to Pro?

Hi @MarkSL,

 

By my tests with adding a free Power BI account to the app workspace which has been assigned with Premium capacity, the free account could have access to the App workspace successfully.

 

Please clear your browser cache and cookies then try again. You also have a test in Private window.

 

In addition, if it is convenient, could you share the screenshoot about the setting of your app workspace.

 

setting.PNG

 

Best  Regards,

Cherry

Community Support Team _ Cherry Gao
If this post helps, then please consider Accept it as the solution to help the other members find it more quickly.
3 REPLIES 3
Community Support Team
Community Support Team

Re: Upgraded to Premium P1, but Free user being to told to upgrade to Pro?

Hi @MarkSL,

 

By my tests with adding a free Power BI account to the app workspace which has been assigned with Premium capacity, the free account could have access to the App workspace successfully.

 

Please clear your browser cache and cookies then try again. You also have a test in Private window.

 

In addition, if it is convenient, could you share the screenshoot about the setting of your app workspace.

 

setting.PNG

 

Best  Regards,

Cherry

Community Support Team _ Cherry Gao
If this post helps, then please consider Accept it as the solution to help the other members find it more quickly.
MarkSL Member
Member

Re: Upgraded to Premium P1, but Free user being to told to upgrade to Pro?

Hi @v-piga-msft

 

Apologies for the late reply and thank you for looking at this.  We found that Free Users were not able to access an upgraded Workspace.  However they were able to access a report shared directly with them or reports contained within an App.

 

I think this is where we are a bit behind the times.  We were not previously using Apps, simply adding users to a Workspace.  We are now going down the App route and Free Users are able to access the reports ok.

 

Thanks again

 

Mark

Community Support Team
Community Support Team

Re: Upgraded to Premium P1, but Free user being to told to upgrade to Pro?

Hi @MarkSL,

 

It seems that you have solved your problem. Please always accept the replies making sense as solution to your question so that people who may have the same question can get the solution directly.

 

If you still need help, please feel free to ask.

 

Best  Regards,

Cherry

Community Support Team _ Cherry Gao
If this post helps, then please consider Accept it as the solution to help the other members find it more quickly.