Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Earn the coveted Fabric Analytics Engineer certification. 100% off your exam for a limited time only!

Anonymous
Not applicable

Update new features/ conditional formatting based on category

I am new to power bi and am trying to add a text filter from the store,  and I get an error saying - unable to import the issue, visit the support and report the issue". Been trying for 2 days. Also, the app is installed on my desktop and I get an update notification, leading me to a page to reinstall the software altogether. 

And am using a direct query to import all the data from sql and i can't see conditional formatting. I need to color code categories, how can i work on this?

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Hi there

yes if you import the data into Power BI using the SQL Query, you will then be able to complete the conditional formatting.

Did I answer your question? Mark my post as a solution!

Proud to be a Super User!

Power BI Blog

View solution in original post

5 REPLIES 5
GilbertQ
Super User
Super User

Hi there

I would suggest that you Import the data from your SQL database. This should then allow for the conditional formatting.

Also there were a few bugs, that is why there is another release for Power BI Desktop.

Power BI Blog

Anonymous
Not applicable

Hey,

I cannot import data cause it is a 400 lines query with a lot of joins. There are 2 databases with millions of rows being affected. Is there another way? I need to color code categories for the dashboard

Hi there

I am not sure that there is another way. Even though it is a few million rows it should fit into the PBIX?

Power BI Blog

Anonymous
Not applicable

Are you suggesting that i import all the data from the database to power bi and then write a sql query on power bi,

will conditional formatting work then? 

Hi there