Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

rufmau68
Helper I
Helper I

The credentials provided for the Web source are invalid

Im new in power bi and i publish on my personal workspace a little report with dataset read from odata (with bearer authorization header)

when i refresh i from pwr bi desktop, refresh success

when i try to refresh it from pwr bi portal, it return the message "The credentials provided for the Web source are invalid".

It seem that credentials that i set form pwr bi desktop, are lost!

and i dont know how to set it again, directly from pwr bi portal

4 REPLIES 4
v-jayw-msft
Community Support
Community Support

Hi @rufmau68 ,

Take a look at this document.

https://docs.microsoft.com/en-us/power-bi/connect-data/service-admin-troubleshooting-power-bi-person...

Error: The credentials provided for the dataset are invalid. Please update the credentials through a refresh or in the Data Source Settings dialog to continue.

Solution: If you get a credentials message, it could mean:

• The usernames and passwords that you used to sign in to data sources aren't up to date. In Power BI, go to refresh settings for the dataset. In Manage Data Sources, select Edit credentials to update the credentials for the data source.

• Mashups between a cloud source and an on-premises source, in a single query, fail to refresh in the gateway (personal mode) if one of the sources is using OAuth for authentication. An example of this issue is a mashup between CRM Online and a local SQL Server instance. The mashup fails because CRM Online requires OAuth.

This error is a known issue, and it's being looked at. To work around the problem, have a separate query for the cloud source and the on-premises source. Then, use a merge or append query to combine them.

Best Regards,

Jay