Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Earn the coveted Fabric Analytics Engineer certification. 100% off your exam for a limited time only!

Jawed
Helper III
Helper III

Teams and RLS

Hi everyone,

I have set up RLS and it works fine when people are accessing the Dashboard and reports online. However, when I add my dashboard on the MS Teams, the RLS fails and anyone who is a member can see the full report. What do I need to do to maintain the RLS?

20 REPLIES 20
v_mark
Helper V
Helper V

This is also the same scenario I have. In the Service, everything works fine. In Microsoft Teams, all data points are being exposed.

Anonymous
Not applicable

I have yhe same problem with Teams and Power BI RLS with Roles.

I Wonder when this will be fixed for Teams.

Anonymous
Not applicable

No Luck yet.

Hi all,

I am new to this same issue, and have played around a bit.  I don't know if this is an official solution, but the way I "seem to" have gotten it working is with the following steps:

1.  Publish the report to a different workspace (I used "My workspace").

2.  Add a new tab in the team you want to share it with and select the PBI report from My Workspace.

3.  In the PBI service, go to the PBI report and share it with the necessary users (I only gave them READ access)

4  In the PBI service, add the users to the role under SECURITY for the dataset

5.  As a double check - ensure the users have READ access under the MANAGE PERMISSIONS for the dataset

I did that, and it seems to be applying the proper RLS from within the team tab now.  I have not done very thorough testing of this yet, so thought I'd share and see if it resolves the issue for some of you as well.

Anonymous
Not applicable

This worked for me! Thank you so much for sharing!

I havent heard anything. I hope they do take this seriously.

Anonymous
Not applicable

@Jawed ,