Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

dbeavon3
Continued Contributor
Continued Contributor

Tables missing when connecting to dataflow from PBI desktop (2023)

There were some similar posts about this in 2019,  and follow-up claims about a Microsoft bug fix.

I think this may be a new bug or a regression.  I'm fairly new to dataflows so I can't say for certain.

I have five tables in a PBI dataflow where "enable load" is set.  Some tables are "computed entities" and others are not.  I'm only able to see three tables after I refresh the dataflow in the service, and try to connect to it from the PBI desktop.  The three that I'm seeing are related - they are a set that incudes two computed entities and one source table.  Unfortunately I'm not seeing the final two remaining tables, when connecting from the PBI desktop.  They are standard tables, rather than computed entities.

When reviewing the download status for the dataflow (available from refresh history) I see that the two missing tables were processed, and no error was generated.  I have valid data in the related status columns: 

Start time, End time, Duration, Bytes processed (KB)

Here is one of the most interesting part.  If I uncheck "enable load" on the three tables that are already visible, then the other two tables will finally be visible to the desktop!  It seems pretty silly.   In other words, those two tables aren't a problem by themselves.  The only time I have problems is if I refresh the dataflow with all five tables in it at the same time.