Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

chienim
Frequent Visitor

Starting User access management in PowerBI and Azure Active Directory

Hello guys,

I searched up and down in the forum and blogs, though still a bit confused about what I'm doing, it may be a basic question but hope if anyone can help me with it.

I started playing with PowerBI desktop one week ago, now what I have on hand is some .pbix files, a SQL database as my data resource, a PowerBI account, and an Azure subscribtion account. I do not have Office 365 in my environment.

I have Azure Active Directory in my Azure portal already.

I also registered a temporary personal MS ID to simulate the enviroment.

I'm now targetting publishing those .pbix reports on the web, and control other PowerBI users about the access to reports, it can be limited by userID or other rules(the rule is not fixed yet).

Searched on internet I found this reference saying that the way to manage access to PBI report is through Office365 Admin or Azure portal, that's why then I built up an Azure subscription account.

(My reference:

https://powerbi.microsoft.com/en-us/documentation/powerbi-admin-administering-power-bi-in-your-organ... )

Here comes the part which I'm not sure how to get started with it,

1. How do I link Azure with my current desktop and pbix files on hand?

(**Edit: I used different account from Azure account for creating PBI reports. Should I use Azure account instead and do everything again?)

2. What I want to do is to simulate if I can manage the access rights by each accounts (e.x. the account I use currently and the simulation MS Account), how can I achieve this?

If there is any good reference it will be also much appreciated if you can let me know.

Thank you very much!

3 REPLIES 3
GilbertQ
Super User
Super User