Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

dan_hoff
Helper I
Helper I

Sharepoint CSV auto refresh does not work

I have been using Power BI for about 6 months.  I recently migrated my data sources from onedrive to sharepoint.  XLXSd to CSV files.

The CSV data sources NEVER update automatically based on change to the data.  This is contrary to the published info on CSV data refresh from sharepoint.  When my files were XLSX on onedrive, if I updated the data, within a short time the power bi data sources were automatically updated.

I and my users have subscribed to the PRO version of Power BI.  Currently, I am needing to manually log into the power bi service (as the ownder of the data sources) and do a Refresh NOW.  That works (updates).  I have NOT set up a refresh schedule - as this is not requried according to the published info on data refresh.  And I dont want to set up a schedule that updates when it need not.  I simply want the data sources to be updated when the data files are updated - as the published info says it should do.

My PBXI files have been created on PowerBI Desktop then published.

For testing I have created two test PBXIs with data sources that are based on 1)'web', with the sharepoint URL.  Then I created data sources based on 2) sharepoint FOLDER.  Neither of these data souce types will auto update when the data (file) is updated.

That is, I made one csv file with a few lines of data.  When I add a line to the csv, the data source in the power bi service never updates.  Neither the PBIX attached to web sharepoint, nor the PBIX attached to the sharepoint folder will update automatically.  (as is with my live system, I can refresh OK from within the published report when logged into the power bi service.