cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Reply
dtrovato Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor

Share VS Access

Hi guys,

 

my apologies for the noob question, but when sharing a dashboard/report, what's the difference between the options Share and Access? 

 

Let's say I share a report to 2 coworkers, then I see them in the access list. They're able to access the report.

What if I add them to the access list instead of sharing the report? Can they either access it?

 

 

what's the scope of these 2 features? 

 

thanks to anyone who answers! 

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions

Re: Share VS Access

@dtrovato

 

About the "Share Report" :

 

If you click on "Manage Permissions" in the "Access" tab, you will have a high-level view of your users and their roles / permissions. As you said, you will also be able to add users. 

It has exactly the same purpose as "Sharing" it.

 

Think of it as a shortcut to the Share Tab 😉

ghjghj.PNGManage Permission = a complete view

 

 

 

 

sharepermission.PNGAdd user = Share

Best Regards.

Augustin

View solution in original post

4 REPLIES 4

Re: Share VS Access

Hi @dtrovato

 

Share and Access are 2 different functions.

 

Anytime you want to give someone access to a dashboard, you need to "Share" it.

You will then be able to see him in the "Access" tab, because you shared access to him.

 

>Share : Give Access for the first time

>Access : Manage people that can access a dashboard, and if they can Reshare, and remove them if you need

 

Is it more clear now ?

,hhhhh.PNGjjjjj.PNG

 

Best Regards

 

Augustin

Highlighted
dtrovato Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor

Re: Share VS Access

hi Augustine, 

 

that is actually true for "Share Dashboard", I wasn't aware of this difference between Dashboard and Report so thank you!

 

But the point is still open with "Share Report". You can choose to share a report and instead of clicking on "Share", you can click the "Access" tab and then on "Manage Permissions" (right below). It will enable you to add users wihout sharing it.

 

 

What is this scenario used for?

 

 

Re: Share VS Access

@dtrovato

 

About the "Share Report" :

 

If you click on "Manage Permissions" in the "Access" tab, you will have a high-level view of your users and their roles / permissions. As you said, you will also be able to add users. 

It has exactly the same purpose as "Sharing" it.

 

Think of it as a shortcut to the Share Tab 😉

ghjghj.PNGManage Permission = a complete view

 

 

 

 

sharepermission.PNGAdd user = Share

Best Regards.

Augustin

View solution in original post

dtrovato Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor

Re: Share VS Access

that's exactly what I was looking for! so cool man, thank you so much!

Helpful resources

Announcements
New Topics Started Badges Coming

New Topics Started Badges Coming

We're releasing new versions of the badge that everyone's talking about. ;) Check your inbox for notifications.

MBAS 2020

Save the new date (and location)!

Our business applications community is growing—so we needed a different venue, resulting in a new date and location. See you there!

Difinity Conference

Difinity Conference

The largest Power BI, Power Platform, and Data conference in New Zealand

Top Solution Authors
Top Kudoed Authors (Last 30 Days)