Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Earn the coveted Fabric Analytics Engineer certification. 100% off your exam for a limited time only!

music43
Advocate II
Advocate II

Scheduled Refresh - Query contains unsupported function. Odbc.DataSource

I am fairly new to Power BI and I am trying to understand if I have come across a bug or if the issue is good old fashioned user error! My Pbix file is setup and working in PBI Desktop but when published to the PBI service I get an error when trying to configure the scheduled refresh.

ErrorMsg.png

I have setup a parameter (called: pEnvironment value from list: Live, Test) to toggle between my live and development environments.

I have a table holding my environment data (example)

EnvironmentODBCDatabaseSchemaActive
TESTmyDSNmyDBmyTESTY
LIVEmyDSNmyDBmyLIVEY

…and filter it as follows:

= Table.SelectRows(Source, each ([Environment] = pEnvironment))

I then reference this table 3 times and finishing by drilling down to the value for ODBC, DB and Schema

let

Source = Environment,

#"Removed Other Columns" = Table.SelectColumns(Source,{"ODBC"}),

ODBC = #"Removed Other Columns"{0}[ODBC]

in

ODBC

I am then able to feed these values into the query as follows.

let

Source = Odbc.DataSource("dsn=" & GetODBC, [HierarchicalNavigation=true, CommandTimeout =#duration(0,1,0,0), ConnectionTimeout=#duration(0,1,0,0)]),

MY_Database = Source{[Name= GetDB,Kind="Database"]}[Data],

Schema = MY_Database{[Name= GetSchema  ,Kind="Schema"]}[Data],

#"Filtered Rows: Select only views" = Table.SelectRows(Schema, each ([Kind] = "View"))

in

#"Filtered Rows: Select only views"

In this way I can change a single parameter and the refresh works, swapping between test and live data.

The issue is in the service.