Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

VictoriaRosas
Frequent Visitor

Schedule Data Refresh

I have scheduled a refresh to occur daily, but it wont work when my computer is off. 

I'm a PowerBI pro user, and I have a personal Gateway. 
Me and my team need to update our reports on a daily basis without worrying on having any of our computers on. 

Any suggestions besides saving our files into OneDrive?

Me and my team would truly appreciate your help! 

Thanks!

2 ACCEPTED SOLUTIONS

@VictoriaRosas 

Couple Options other than OneDrive:

1) Schedule the refresh for a time when you know your computer should be running. (not ideal, prone to some errors)

2) You can install the gateway on any machine that stays running, as long as it has access to the file you are using to refresh the dataset.

For full details, read through the gateway details here

Looking for more Power BI tips, tricks & tools? Check out PowerBI.tips the site I co-own with Mike Carlo. Also, if you are near SE WI? Join our PUG Milwaukee Brew City PUG

View solution in original post

No, it's still in Preview, and you are correct, that is an important thing to point out. And there are preview-type limitations, such as available data sources, which should also be pointed out. But, it sounded like what @VictoriaRosas was looking for was more along the lines of a single gateway that could handle multiple, different people's data sources and to my knowledge, Enterprise Gateway is the vehicle for that versus Personal Gateway, which is; well, for *personal* use. 🙂

Azure IaaS applies either way. For me personally, I have an Azure IaaS VM that I do some of this stuff with and I also have an old laptop that just sits and runs Personal Gateway all day as well.

@ me in replies or I'll lose your thread!!!