Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

S_M
Helper III
Helper III

Schedule Data Refresh Issues - Not PowerBI Pro

Hi, 

I am relatively new to PowerBI and am having trouble with running a refresh / sharing on PowerBI service. I built my model on a PowerBI desktop file using ODBC connectors & GA, imported it to PowerBI - on trying to schedule a data refresh i see the following : 

This dataset contains on-premises data sources. To schedule data refresh, try Power BI Pro for 60 days, or contact your Office 365 tenant administrator to purchase Power BI Pro.

- Can i schedule a refresh only if i am a Power BI Pro user ?

Secondly, if i were to even try refreshing the dataset on the service, it tells me that my gateway is offline - having installed both, the personal and the on premises gateway and having set it up, it still leads me to the same. Could someone please highlight what i am doing wrong ?

Also, if i were to get PowerBI Pro to schedule my refreshes, do my users need to be pro to be able to share these dashboards ? Thanks! 

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION
ankitpatira
Community Champion
Community Champion

@S_M if your file contains on premise data source then you don't need power bi pro. you need pro only if you want to refresh dataset in power bi service that is from on-premise data source. you can do manual workaround of refreshing power bi desktop file manually each time and republishing it but that is not an ideal solution.

View solution in original post

4 REPLIES 4
ankitpatira
Community Champion
Community Champion

@S_M 

1. yes you can setup schedule refresh to on-premise data source only with power bi pro account. 

2. you need to install either personal or on-premise gateway not both. therefore uninstall all existing gateways download latest gateway and then install