Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

WeeraS
Regular Visitor

Schedule Data Refresh Issue

Hi, I am new to PowerBi and  I have a problem of failing schedule data refresh.If anyone can help me to solve this problem woulld be highly appreciated.

I created few powerBi reports to my company and published to pwerBI service. I have used Ostando databae and ODBC to get the data from ostendo to my reports. For these report I have used one query(sales lines) which has over 2.3 million lines and size of my dataset is 630Mb. I used to have personal gate way and even when I had personal gateway data refresh failed every now and then. Recently i upgraded to on premise gateway and it is online always. So I guess my gateway configuration should be fine.

Somehow large datasets I have in powerBi service now keep failing data refresh. Normally it takes nearly two hours to refreh these dataset and sometime it gives me an error message saying timeout. I just want to know that my datasets are too big to refresh within the time frame given in powerBi service or are there anythingelse wrong here. How can I optimise data refresh rate to refresh dateset under 120 minutes

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

@WeeraS try to trim the columns. 39 columns are alot. maybe split your columns and create a an ID to connect both together. any Date column, make sure to have it Date instead of DateTime.

Go to the Command Prompt in windows and run a 'ping' to the server of the data source, or better check with your IT to run a Ping between your PC and the server where the Data Source is hosted.

View solution in original post

5 REPLIES 5
v-shex-msft
Community Support
Community Support

Hi @WeeraS,

As majdkaid22 said, too many columns may be a cause the timeout issue.