Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Earn the coveted Fabric Analytics Engineer certification. 100% off your exam for a limited time only!

Anonymous
Not applicable

Row Level Security error for admin/author

I've authored and uploaded a dataset to a workspace I am an admin for.

When I try to connect to this Power BI Dataset in desktop (both Nov and Dec versions), it's giving me an error when building visuals:

Error Message:
The query encountered security filters on a table relationship that cannot be reconciled for the current user. Please contact your administrator or developer to review role memberships and security definitions.

I have a DAX expression on a table with user emails from Azure Active Directory: [DomainName] = USERPRINCIPALNAME ()  and I have the Apply Security in Both Directions checkbox ticked.  I'm not in this table.  When the RLS is removed or the Apply Secuirty is unchecked then the error stops but that would allow users to see all the data so isn't an option.

This was working before the November release and the support team I'm talking to at Mindtree don't seem to know what is causing it and suggesting I add myself to the RLS in Power BI Service.  

Could someone confirm if things have changed in these updates and I no longer have unhindered open access as an author or admin for this dataset.  I am unsure how to create RLS under manage roles that will let me see everything.

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION
Anonymous
Not applicable

So this is a bug.  It's not going to be fixed until Mid-March.  There is a workaround that doesn't last long where you have to open the dataset in the powerbi service and then connect to it via the desktop to create your reports.  Last a few hours then stops.  Absolute madness this has been like this since November.  Five months for a fix so I can do my job.  Well done Microsoft. 

View solution in original post

8 REPLIES 8
Anonymous
Not applicable