Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Earn the coveted Fabric Analytics Engineer certification. 100% off your exam for a limited time only!

nencarnacion
Regular Visitor

Row Level Security: DAX Filtering other than username()

Hi,

I am new to Power Bi, please forgive my misuse of terminologies.
I am trying to implement Row Level Security for providing multilevel access for 120000 Users.
I have, so far, tried using the username() function using a sample data and it worked.

Now, given that the actual data that we will eventually use does not have an email column like my sample data and since i am trying to avoid medling with our client's Database, Is there a way to use, for instance, an employee ID in the DAX expression? I will have to add the Employee IDs to our AD User pool but will Power Bi see that ID and eventually use it for the Filtering?

Thanks for the Help!!

4 REPLIES 4
Pat_learner
Frequent Visitor

I'm facing exact same issue and I suspect there are many others in the same boat.  It is not uncommon that 'user principal name' is not part of a user's record in a given database.  User's first and last name and user id are more common.  Also, the Username() function should be consistent in its behaviour across PowerBI platforms.   Is  there a RLS workaround for  data that holds only user's name but not email address ?  Solution that calls for setting up a relathiship hard-coding user to a targeted information will not work for my environment (as any users can submit any forms.  my RLS implementation just want to set a limited view for each user such that he can only see his own list of forms he submitted when he logs in to this report in Power BI Service).  Any help will be greatly appreciated. 

Thanks.

Pat

v-micsh-msft
Employee
Employee

Hi nencarnacion,