Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

Anonymous
Not applicable

Report Pages not refreshing automatically

Hi all - i am a beginner with the Power BI service. I just setup a dataset and report from my enterprise engagement on the Power BI service and finally got my multiple data sources up and running so they can be refreshed automatically from on-premises data sources. However, whehn i got to the actual reports, the data does not look refreshed and i have to hit the "Refresh" button in order for the actual page to get refreshed and show real-time data. 

Is this expected? Should the report pages not refresh automatically once the underlying dataset has been refreshed? It kind of defeats the purpose of an automatic refresh if the actual dashboard page visual does not refresh itself automatically. Please let me know how this works! 

Thanks.

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Hi there

Yes that is correct the reports will not AUTO REFRESH.

You either have to click on the refresh button or interact with the report to get the changes.

This is currently by design.

With that being said the Dashboards will auto update when the underlying data is updated.

Did I answer your question? Mark my post as a solution!

Proud to be a Super User!

Power BI Blog

View solution in original post

8 REPLIES 8
Anonymous
Not applicable

Hi @GilbertQ ,looking to same scenario - we want the reports to run on TV screens on manufacturing sites and without auto refresh we cannot do that - Please suggenst any solution to handle these kind of scenarios.

Note - I created an html page to handle to auto refresh however then the problem of asking for login option every 1 hour.feels like so close to the solution but so far 😞

Anonymous
Not applicable

Hey @GilbertQ , I have similar question...