cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Reply
fjml95 Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor

Removing a report after it has been published to the web

Is it possible to remove a report after it has been "Published to the Web" in the Power BI service? Or is it that so once a report has been published the data and the report is permeanently public?

 

That is our only option so far in sharing a report, right? By using the publish to web function?

 

Thanks

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Moderator Eric_Zhang
Moderator

Re: Removing a report after it has been published to the web


@fjml95 wrote:

Is it possible to remove a report after it has been "Published to the Web" in the Power BI service? Or is it that so once a report has been published the data and the report is permeanently public?

 

That is our only option so far in sharing a report, right? By using the publish to web function?

 

Thanks


@fjml95

 

"Publish to the web" makes it easy to share your report on internet, you can embeded the report in your web site or blog. Once you wouldn't like to share it any more, you can delete it from "setting"->"manage embeded codes", then the report would not visible any longer. So you don't have to worry about "permeanently public".

Capture.PNG

 

For internall shareing, there're features like Group workspaces and RLS, which allow to share the data in different security.

7 REPLIES 7
Super User
Super User

Re: Removing a report after it has been published to the web

@fjml95 you can delete report after publish to web and that will also remove it from publish to web. Sharing is different from publish to web. Publish to web should be used when you want to share reprot with general public over internet (like showing POC report) as there is no authetication and anyone with link can see report. Also make sure data is not sensitive with publish to web. Sharing of dashboards with users internally and externally gives them access to dashboard and report and only them. 

silolondon Regular Visitor
Regular Visitor

Re: Removing a report after it has been published to the web

@ankitpatira when you say "share dashboard with users externally - how do you do this?

Moderator Eric_Zhang
Moderator

Re: Removing a report after it has been published to the web


@silolondon wrote:

@ankitpatira when you say "share dashboard with users externally - how do you do this?


It is the feature "Publish to web", Check this video.

silolondon Regular Visitor
Regular Visitor

Re: Removing a report after it has been published to the web

Oh.  That's not share with an external user - that's "publishing all a clients data to the internet for the world to see"

 

I was hoping there'd been some progress.

Moderator Eric_Zhang
Moderator

Re: Removing a report after it has been published to the web


@fjml95 wrote:

Is it possible to remove a report after it has been "Published to the Web" in the Power BI service? Or is it that so once a report has been published the data and the report is permeanently public?

 

That is our only option so far in sharing a report, right? By using the publish to web function?

 

Thanks


@fjml95

 

"Publish to the web" makes it easy to share your report on internet, you can embeded the report in your web site or blog. Once you wouldn't like to share it any more, you can delete it from "setting"->"manage embeded codes", then the report would not visible any longer. So you don't have to worry about "permeanently public".

Capture.PNG

 

For internall shareing, there're features like Group workspaces and RLS, which allow to share the data in different security.

silolondon Regular Visitor
Regular Visitor

Re: Removing a report after it has been published to the web

When working with client data - the publish to the web option is not viable.  The warning below is not one that my client would sign off.  

 

Untitled.png

 

 

 

 

Super User
Super User

Re: Removing a report after it has been published to the web

@silolondon sharing dashboard with external users is same as sharing internally. You just type in email address of users that are outside of your organisation and you will receive a warning sign saying email address is outside domain but it will let you share.