cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Reply
JustaRookie012
Frequent Visitor

Questions regarding workspace state (Deleted and Removing)

 

I have found the following descriptions for the states:

  • Active – A regular workspace that is available and accessible
  • Deleted – A deleted workspace that still exists in the Power BI service
  • Orphaned – A workspace without a user account with administrator permissions
  • Removing – A deleted workspace marked for permanent removal

How long does it take for Deleted workspaces to become workspace with removing state, and how long will these "removing" workspaces remain before they are permanently removed and no longer restorable?

 

Naamloos.jpg

 
1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

hi @JustaRookie012 

If you've deleted a group, it will be retained for 30 days by default. This 30-day period is considered a "soft-delete" because you can still restore the group. After 30 days, the group and its associated contents are permanently deleted and cannot be restored.
 
Regards,
Lin
Community Support Team _ Lin
If this post helps, then please consider Accept it as the solution to help the other members find it more quickly.

View solution in original post

8 REPLIES 8
karlk
Helper I
Helper I

Hi,

 

I stumbled on this post while trying to find an answer to the workspace soft delete period.  The Microsoft docs (https://docs.microsoft.com/en-us/power-bi/admin/service-admin-portal#workspaces) indicate the period is 90 days.

 

Thanks

 

Karl

Anonymous
Not applicable

Hi,

 

Can you restore a workspace with the status - 'Removing'?

If not, how many days does the workspace remain in the Removing Status before it goes to Deleted?

 

Thanks,

Prax

HI there

If you go into the Workspace settings in the Admin Portal you can then restore the App Workspace

From my understanding it keeps it for 30 days

Here are more details below but this is for only the Modern App Workspaces.

https://dataveld.com/2019/01/31/what-is-an-orphaned-workspace-in-power-bi/




Did I answer your question? Mark my post as a solution!

Proud to be a Super User!







Power BI Blog

GilbertQ
Super User
Super User

From my understanding is that it goes from Active, to Removing to Deleted.

Deleted workspaces can be recovered

Here is the document I read: https://docs.microsoft.com/en-us/power-bi/service-admin-portal#workspaces




Did I answer your question? Mark my post as a solution!

Proud to be a Super User!







Power BI Blog

Ok, that's my misunderstanding then. But the question still remains: How long will these "Deleted" workspace remain in the power BI service before it is actually deleted and become no longer restorable. 

hi @JustaRookie012 

If you've deleted a group, it will be retained for 30 days by default. This 30-day period is considered a "soft-delete" because you can still restore the group. After 30 days, the group and its associated contents are permanently deleted and cannot be restored.
 
Regards,
Lin
Community Support Team _ Lin
If this post helps, then please consider Accept it as the solution to help the other members find it more quickly.
Anonymous
Not applicable

@v-lili6-msft This is really useful information. Is it possible to add it to the documentation? https://docs.microsoft.com/en-us/power-bi/service-admin-portal#workspaces

Let me see if I can find out.




Did I answer your question? Mark my post as a solution!

Proud to be a Super User!







Power BI Blog

Helpful resources

Announcements
Power Platform Conf 2022 768x460.jpg

Join us for Microsoft Power Platform Conference

The first Microsoft-sponsored Power Platform Conference is coming in September. 100+ speakers, 150+ sessions, and what's new and next for Power Platform.

Power BI Dev Camp Session 23 768x460.jpg

Check it Out!

Mark your calendars and join us on Thursday, June 30 at 11a PDT for a great session with Ted Pattison!

Top Solution Authors