Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

Anonymous
Not applicable

Question on refreshing data sourced from web

I'm quite new to PowerBI and hope to get some advice.

Let say I get the historical stock data from Yahoo Finance and loaded into PowerBI dekstop to perform some visualization and calculation. What should I do in order to refresh the stock data daily (automatically) since every day there will be a new data at Yahoo Finance as long as the market is opened? 

Hope to get some help and advice, thank you!

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION
v-yuaj-msft
Community Support
Community Support

Hi @Anonymous ,

Based on your description, you can configure a scheduled refresh. Please refer to the following document.

Configure scheduled refresh - Power BI | Microsoft Docs

Which connecting mode did you use? You can also try to use automatic page refresh if your models have at least one “Direct Query” data source. Please refer to the following link.

Automatic page refresh in Power BI Desktop - Power BI | Microsoft Docs

Hope that's what you were looking for.

Best Regards,

Yuna

If this post helps, then please consider Accept it as the solution to help the other members find it more quickly.

View solution in original post

3 REPLIES 3
vomi0401

The issue is related to the link refreshing the same date.  Take for example this yahoo finance link.

https://query1.finance.yahoo.com/v7/finance/download/ES=F?period1=1463702400&period2=1621468800&interval=1d&events=history&includeAdjustedClose=true

When hitting refresh, the period2 date (1621468800) will remain the same, which means the data will only be current up to the date the link was pulled.  The question is, how to get this date to update in the link.