Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Earn the coveted Fabric Analytics Engineer certification. 100% off your exam for a limited time only!

mluong212
Frequent Visitor

Prevent PBIX from unauthorized download

Hi all,

I am new to power BI and I am wondering if there is anyone know how to prevent your power bi file from being downloaded after publishing them to the organization's workspace?

I have created some dashboards for my organization and published them to the organization's workspace (not the authoring workspace). People can view my dashboards in the workspace but are not able to modify them. However, they can still download the pbix file and see all my queries and data.

Is there a way for me to prevent internal people from downloading the pbix file?

Thanks,

ML

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION
GilbertQ
Super User
Super User

Hi @mluong212

One of the things that you can do is instead of making the users members of the App Workspace, rather let them consume the data via the Apps. This will mean then that they get a Read-Only copy. Which will not give them the option to download the PBIX file.

Or what you can do is to Share the Dashboards with the users, this once again is Read-Only which will mean that they will not be able to download the PBIX file.

Did I answer your question? Mark my post as a solution!

Proud to be a Super User!

Power BI Blog

View solution in original post

6 REPLIES 6
GilbertQ
Super User
Super User

Hi @mluong212

One of the things that you can do is instead of making the users members of the App Workspace, rather let them consume the data via the Apps. This will mean then that they get a Read-Only copy. Which will not give them the option to download the PBIX file.

Or what you can do is to Share the Dashboards with the users, this once again is Read-Only which will mean that they will not be able to download the PBIX file.

Did I answer your question? Mark my post as a solution!