Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Earn the coveted Fabric Analytics Engineer certification. 100% off your exam for a limited time only!

scolvin
Frequent Visitor

Power Bi licences

Hello,

I am new in the Power BI environment and I want to know what licences I need to answer my needs.

I will be the only Power BI developper (Desktop) in my society and I want to publish the reports by Power BI Service or Web for the users in read only.

What licences I need ?

I tested with the free try Pro or Premium by user but it doesn't work...

Thank you in advance

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION
aj1973
Community Champion
Community Champion

Nope,

Premium Capacity is basicaly for Workspace capacity. Your organisation needs to get the license for premium capacity in order to allow Viewrs without license to see your reports.

I would recommend to start by Pro license and then you can upgrade as you go and as your needs.

With a Pro license for each user (Below 500 Users) is better than to start with premium for now.

and as I told you if you think that you can share your reports with your views through a Public URL then you can save money and your Pro license is good enough.

PPU has little more capabilities than Pro license, that's all.

aj1973_0-1618926641263.png

Regards
Amine Jerbi

If I answered your question, please mark this thread as accepted
and you can follow me on
My Website, LinkedIn and Facebook

View solution in original post

12 REPLIES 12
aj1973
Community Champion
Community Champion

Hi @scolvin 

Here is a Table summary on what's been said

aj1973_0-1618924715664.png

Just to add : if the report does not contain sensitive data and you are willing to share it publicly then no need for any license to them viewers. with your pro license you can generate a Public URL and share it with them.

Regards
Amine Jerbi

and you can follow me on

scolvin
Frequent Visitor

Thanks Selimovd and NimaiAhluwalia,